blackhippychick

Will Smith The King of the United States

In black blogger, black culture, culture, entertainment, Hollywood on March 30, 2022 at 4:07 pm

We have all seen the slap that was heard around the world of Will Smith maybe smacking, or maybe pretending to smack an unsuspecting Chris Rock when the threat of a slap even if it never hit his face is good enough for everyone. What critics of Will Smith do not know is that slap meant a lot to people of color and people who love people of color. The simple truth is words do matter and Will Smith showed with a simple action that some people need to keep their tasteless comedians in check because what the white race allows some black people to get away with is not tolerated in the white race.

A perfect example is rap lyrics that talk about heinous crimes currently on black radio right now. Now we know white mom’s went against the gaming industry and tv to get ratings to protect the sensibilities of their kids but not a peep from anyone in protecting the sensibilities of black children and teens because maybe society thinks blacks are not sophisticated enough to be hurt by words, however they are.

Let me illustrate to you my childhood elementary years in Decatur Georgia where ironically I sat behind Erykah Badu. She was a beautiful girl with long black hair that was always perfect, shining hazel eyes and a big laugh and perfect handwriting and a straight A student. Nothing to criticize here you would think but big lipped Jerry Prince who had a lot we could have said about him would torment her every day about her every move. Anything good anything perfect he would attack, in our classroom we had the owner of a successful car dealership , it was a pontiac dealership then, now they own a huge Mercedes Benz Dealership and the classmates mother has never lost a case. Jerry would torment the girl just because the dealership was successful and meanly say if my dad had not given your dad the loan you would not have anything and that was the light stuff he said to her. As for me I guess I was an ugly child and we had pen pals with another school and Jerry found out who it was. It was all supposed to be a secret with no real names used. I think I used my initials and Jerry told my pen pal my initials stood for Old Beast OB. My penpal wrote me saying what was being said and did not know what t say. Evidently I was an old Beast because when we met the pen pal ran from me. The biggest thing Jerry ever said to the white dude in our class was. You have all A’s if your final report card comes home with all A’s you better find a way home because I’m going to beat your ass. Evidently he had forgotten the fact that Jim’s mom had kept him back a grade for getting a C and Jim had not choice but to get all A’s.

When Will Smith allegedly smacked Chris Rock, he showed his love for his wife Jada Pinkett Smith. This is literally the modern day version of Emily Bronte’s Poem How do I love thee let me count the ways as a sign of love towards his wife.

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.
I love thee to the depth and breadth and height
My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight
For the ends of being and ideal grace.
I love thee to the level of every day’s
Most quiet need, by sun and candle-light.
I love thee freely, as men strive for right.
I love thee purely, as they turn from praise.
I love thee with the passion put to use
In my old griefs, and with my childhood’s faith.
I love thee with a love I seemed to lose
With my lost saints. I love thee with the breath,
Smiles, tears, of all my life; and, if God choose,
I shall but love thee better after death.

This poem is in the public domain.

Even so Will Smith Smacked down all of the tasteless bullies, the Jerry Princes’ of the world. The ones that have Erykah Badu saying maybe nazism is okay. This comment by Erykah I want to say was not directed towards Israel or Jews it was directed towards the life of torment that people like Chris Rock put their classmates through in grade school. Being classless and tasteless may be okay for the Academy but it does nothing to further love and peace in the world. Will Smith did not lose control he went to war for us all; and all is fair in love and war. Hopefully the war was won against bullies. STOP IT STOP THE BULLYING.

What the world needs now is love sweet love and Chris Rock has not given us any of that but Will has plenty of it. Thank you Will Smith. You know how to love………Thank you for loving Jada, thank you for loving a black woman so much you stood up for any and all of us that’s ever been bullied.

Leave a comment