blackhippychick

Complaint Against Evansdale Elementary Dekalb County Schools Obama Admin refused to Investigate

In Afrian American Twitters, African American Bloggers, African American Blogs, african american twitters, Atlanta, barack obama, black blogger, black bloggers, black twitters, Black Women Bloggers, ethnic twitters, Neighborhoods, politics, presidential race, Race, Race and Class, relationships on December 25, 2009 at 8:47 am

During the campaign I wrote about public housing residents  in Chicago who were in the freezing cold in Barack Obama’s district.   They insisted they called his office and he did nothing about it.  He claimed no knowledge of it .  THe Chicago public schools when Obama was a politician were in a shambles and still are in a shambles Aas evidenced by the many killings near and around the schools.  The strangest thing to me though is that Obama is now trying to craft a health care plan when he apparently does not care for anyone not even third term babies that he freely supported aborting.  Personally I think he seeks to destabilize health care so his friends can have some money.  What ahve the stimulus funds done.  In any event this is about my complaint my civil rights complaint that I made to the Department of Education regarding the education of my child who was not being educated and seemed to be under emotional and psychological attack at this school.  As in character the Obama administration did nothing about it and declined to investigate.   I think there were some real problems in the county school system and no one seems to care about these children.  There is a virtual academy in our state where a huge number of particpants are from the county of Dekalb County Georgia.  The system is just different and not held accountable for teaching the children.  They have been embroiled in a cheating scandal and the superintendent sent out an email saying to support the teachers and principals involved, I wonder why.  As a parent I don’t want anyone cheating for my children there is a life other than elementary and high school and they will be hrld accountable.

In any event here is my incoherent complaint to the Obama administration’s DOE  they refused to investigate.
This is a class complaint on the behalf of all of the poor minority children who have been victimized by this school

As I was registering my child for Evansdale Elementary I noticed that a lady was angrily withdrawing her child from the school.  She was a black woman and appeared to be extremely angry as she was withdrawing the child. I thought to myself how strange my child will be OK because she was a straight A student and on the honor roll all of her life.I forgot to mention I tried to enroll my child but told my child was not on the list and then a call as made to the board of education to confirm that my child was on the list. I thought it was strange that someone would think I would drive all of that way to lie about my child being on the list but continued to register her though I was slightly disturbed.  On the day of open house as I entered the building to meet the teacher a Jewish looking lady said Oh no you are not on the list and refused to allow us to precede to the normal place where people who have registered go to and directed us to the library where an Asian woman and Hispanic woman were standing saying they were on the list for the school also.  I overheard the women say if you were registered your folder would be here to the Asian woman.  I said well I preregistered and my information should be there the women from the school kept saying they could not find the name until they eventually found it and then they said oh it was in the bin all the time you’ve preregistered and directed me to the teachers room and never directed me to the cafeteria where stuff such as PTA registration was happening etc.  As I was leaving I overheard a parent say to her child no more advanced classes for you you cant handle it.  I do not know of these persons names but I do know the school board keeps a record of all students who are disenrolled from the school and if you speak to them you probably will find commonility in what I’m saying to you.

The allegations of discrimination come from what I can only describe as emotional cruelty towards a child which is designed to mess with her confidence.  My child made a 34 on a multiplication quiz that was unannounced and was forced to write it in her agenda several times.  Instead of sending the quiz home and allowing me to say you’ve got to do better the children were forced to write it several times however when she made a 92 and 90 on the same material she did not have to write it to reinforce that she had done well on her test.  My daughter than took another test and wore her glasses to school but they disappeared she does not know when.  However the teacher wrote on her grade of 80 test where are your glasses?  I found this profoundly disturbing and wrote to the principal and faxed a copy of this information he told me to discuss it with the teacher. The school has a weird system of recording work habits fro all children which is really strange they get checks when they don’t have certain items like a book.  This is OK but my daughter left her book at home and instead of the teacher allowing her to share with someone else or giving her a sheet to look at she made her sit there without a book and emailed me she did not have her book, the email was fine but to sit there and not let the child have a book or anything to look at is disgraceful and unheard of. Prior to this I had come in to speak to two of my children’s subject matter teachers one concerning the math and another because he had misgraded my child’s paper, she had gotten an 80 when she deserved a 100.  This also happened in my chidls workbook I noticed that all of her answers were correct but she self grded her paper and marked them wrong, yesterday I said honey these answers are correct she said my teacher looked at these answers and said they were wrong.  I insisted they were correct.
In any event on the day I went to see the math teacher and the science teacher about my various issues concerning them I did not see the Social Studies teacher because I had not received ANY graded papers from her “NOTHING”  well when I got home I received a call from her telling me my child had been late for two days which she had and that it may jeopardize her grade, the teacher even admits that this was the third day she had done actual work with the students THE THIRD DAY IN THREE WEEKS AND NOT ONE GRADED PAPER, I eventually called her back and she told me she had given my child many checks I said no youh ave not she does not have one check she then called for my daughter out of her class I said I hope you are not putting checks on her paper now SHE CALLED THE CHILD OUT OF CLASS and she had one check when she got home but we could not maintain a civil conversation I told her my daughter had been late to school but not as late as she was indicating I said maybe she got lost since it was a new school she said your child is not smart enough to find her way through the school after being in school for three weeks I then discontinued the conversation and made an appointment to speak with the Principal who despite the fact that I had written him a long letter of my concerns addressed none of them. Our topic of conversation was that I was aware that there was a gpa requirement for staying in the school and it appeared they were picking on my child this was not resolved. The next day coincidentally  the children were sent forms home and parents had to sign they were aware of the gpa requirements I found the timing strange.  In addition the children were given reading tests to see what level they were on which seems strange timing to me also.  The last action was an email about forgetting the book which I wrote about above. While these maybe normal incidents and coincidences I am convinced that this is a pattern of behavior that certain children have been subjected to.  My child was torn down before she got in the door and her confidence is going and gone she makes careless mistakes on her math work because of the emotional cruelty that she is subjected to.   This should not happen to any other child.

As far as age discrimination is involved the school is using strategies that are not age appropriate the kids are changing classes at fourth grade they have to carry around their stuff from class to class, when a child is late they do not have a locker to go to they have to interrupt an ongoing class and are not allowed to carry their book bags to other classes they were given excessive homework but not anymore

In addition I would like to add the case of the young child who committed suicide in Dekalb County schools to my complaint the school system totally ignored his mothers complaints that he was mistreated and they are ignoring my complaints the administrator has discounted my complaints and have not taken them seriously I know my child is being mistreated.  I am making a complaint against the whole school system for its failure to ignore the complaints of poor black children and their parents This is a class complaint and you should not allow any more children to be stunted and destroyed by this school system

This is my second attempt to file this complaint so I have several addends.

During the week of October 20, 2009 my daughter was in class and her white teacher told her to get up and move to another table and gave her an assigned seat, no other children in the class according to her have assigned seats.  My daughter says the children come in and sit where they want to sit.  I asked her had she been given some sort of warning ie. stop talking you have a behavior problem and she said no. The teacher instructed the child to go and sit with the boys this is clearly a gender based method of punishment and gender discrimination.

At the beginning of October the math teacher gave children who had missed problems on their math silent lunch.  This is not age appropriate as well as discriminates against children for the disability of not getting the problems correct.

The Social Studies teacher as opposed to using the county curriculum makes up her own tests and attaches half of the county’s mandated test to the whole test.  This discriminates based on age.  The test has 30 words or more for so far 12-15 boxes.  This is clearly not a well thought out test based upon the developmental and educational needs of fourth graders.

Instead of class work the children are required to take notes like college students.  This is clearly not age appropriate.

There are no county wide curriculum materials and requirements in place to assure that every child across the county has a comparable education.  Some teachers are making homemade tests that are awful and some are making tests that are grand, unfortunately my child has the bad test maker.

There is wide spread test manipulation and cheating in the county which makes it impossible to measure and benchmark correctly the achievements of  children.  This is evidenced by the arrest of several principals in a cheating scandal early this summer.  No one knows for sure who’s cheating and who the cheating is benefiting.  This is discrimination on several fronts based on who the beneficiaries of cheating are.

The school is being used to host activities that are marketed to students that are not accessible because of lack of income ie chess is almost two hundred dollars and drama was well over two hundred dollars these are clearly discriminatory actions  based on income and therefore race because certain races have less income and can not afford the price of entry.

Forgot to mention one teacher staples different versions of the test together like teachers may have an option of giving test b or test a she will staple half of test a to half of test b this is not what the test maker intended and not age appropriate and discriminates on age hampering the children’s ability to learn

7. Your complaint must be filed within 180 days of the discriminatory action

When did the last act of discrimination occur?

Enter the date: 11/22/09 (mm/dd/yyyy)

Are you requesting a waiver of the 180-day filing time limit for discrimination that occurred more than 180 days before the filing of this complaint?

No.

8. What would you like the institution to do as a result of your complaint – what remedy are you seeking?

In would like the county to research how many children who entered evansdale elementary school as honors students ended up receiving c’s and had test scores that went down significantly I would like to know the race, gender and the income of these children.  If a pattern of not achieving is shown because of this schools attitude I would like the county to make changed where all children have the right to a magnet education of a foreign language.

I would like to see the teachers better educated in the psychological and developmental needs of children

I would like to see some consistency regarding curriculum across the county.  My child attended a magnet before and they did use the textbooks and testing materials of the county.

Do you have written information that you think will help us understand your complaint?

Yes

  1. I commend you on being so involved and concerned in your daughter’s education. It is a shame that more parents are not. Is it possible to have her moved to another school within the district? Or another room within the school? If not, it may be best to explain to her that life isn’t fair and sometimes you can’t count on the people who should be most interesting in making things right(the teachers), but that she must NOT let these people or these circumstances cheat her out of her education. She is entitled to an education, she is smart, she is beautiful, she is your beloved child and you will not let her loose ground because someone is making it hard for her. Can you get the teachers to maybe email you everyday to say what the homework is, so your daughter isn’t taken by surprise and you can help her make sure everything is done and organized? And that child deserves a big show of love and praise for every effort because things are so hard, but I know you already give that to her. 🙂 Mostly just try to make the point “Your education is YOURS, don’t let anyone take it away, not even a teacher. You fight for it. Tell her to follow all the rules even if they are stupid because what she has to do to make sure she wins and they don’t. She’ll learn to persevere in hard times, and she’ll end up, excuse me, but miles ahead of the teachers who probably hate their jobs and feel like loosers themselves. Which is probably a lot of the problem. But she can’t let their problem become hers, she’s got to rise above so she can have the life she deserves.

  2. I gotta tell you, my children, actually do go to Evensdale, and I think you’re making stuff up. There are no advanced classes for a child not to take. It doesn’t matter if you are on the list or not, unless you are in magnet — in which case the list screw up happened at the county level and it does every year. If you are in district all you need is your citizenship stuff and your power bill and your health forms. As for the women who do registration, they are a pair of old white ladies, so, again, not buying it. It’s true that 4th graders do change classes. But the class rooms are all next to each other. And much of their stuff stays in that particular class room. Half of those teachers are black, btw.

Leave a Reply

