blackhippychick

Emotive will allow Computers to Take a Real Live Journey Through your Mind With Their Mind Reading Device

In African American Bloggers, African American Blogs, black blogger, black bloggers, Technology on February 2, 2009 at 1:30 am

http://www.inc.com/magazine/20081201/reality-bites.html

“I Wish I Could Take A Journey Through Your Mind and Find the Emotions You Always Try to Hide” JOE

Several years ago I was informed that their was a mind reading device that could read your thoughts and someone called the thoughts “computer thoughts”.  While I was a believer and believed,  I never thought that the technology would be mainstreamed and assumed that the technology would remain under some strange black project and would never see the light of day.

However a couple of innovative Australians have done what I never thought would happen.  They will be main  streaming a mind reading device that reads the brain waves in  persons  mind and translates them into their thoughts.

Two of the innovators behind bringing this technology to market were pioneers in early text messaging.  They made their first millions by  bringing text messaging technology to the masses.  The other founder of the company is a Nobel prize winning scientist.

The writer from Inc. has tried the technology and  has the following to say about the Mind Reading Device:

I‘m sitting in a darkened room, attempting to move a large block with nothing but my thoughts. I stare at it intently and imagine myself physically tugging on it, trying to flood my mind with a sense of strain and determination. But the block doesn’t budge. I try again, concentrating, concentrating: Move, damn you; I am your master. After a long moment, the block trembles a bit, then slowly skids toward me a few feet before stopping. Encouraged, I mentally bear down until the block resumes its sliding, and this time it keeps going. I’m gripped by the immensity of what I have just accomplished: effecting a change in the world around me without moving a muscle. Well, that’s not entirely true. I may have squinted a bit.

This isn’t a dream; it’s science — and soon, maybe, a big business. OK, the block was only a virtual one on a computer screen, but that’s a nit. The same technology that converted my thoughts into action on the screen someday could be hooked up to a real-life backhoe, robot surgeon, or microwave oven, placing any of those objects at my mental whim. This thought-conversion technology is composed of some extremely sophisticated software and a piece of headgear that looks like a cross between a telephone headset and a skeletal bike helmet. Embedded in the headset are 16 electrodes that press lightly on my scalp, monitoring the electrical signals generated by the 3 pounds of toothpaste-like goo sealed in my skull. The signals are my brain waves, the stuff of thought and emotion. The headset passes the signals to the software, which extracts patterns that can be used to control anything that’s run by electronics.”

Emotive plans to introduce the technology to the gaming community first because of their willingness to adapt new technologies and their openness to beliveing the technology could exist.  The company then hopes to export the technology to as many areas of human interaction that it can.  Some of the other uses the company hopes to export the mind reading technology to is to ipods and mp3 players, allowing your thoughts and feelings to determine what music is played.

Other areas that I can personally think of is answering the question do you really love me.  Will people allow computer technology to do as Joe says “take a journey through their minds and find the emotions they always try to hide.”  This device can answer the unanswered.

Personally while I know this stock will outperform Google I will be investing in the company that provides shielding from this type of technology because I’m sure it can be wireless.

Leave a Reply

